You have selected

Sony Xperia L1 Sony Xperia L1

Select another device

Sony Xperia L1 Device maintenance Soft reset (forced reboot)

Sony Xperia L1
Sony Xperia L1 - Device maintenance - Soft reset (forced reboot) - Step 1
  • If your Sony Xperia L1 doesn’t appear to be working completely as it should, you can solve this in many cases by turning your device off and then on again, or giving it a so-called ‘soft reset’.
  • With a soft reset, the operating system is rebooted and all services reloaded.
  • If you use this method of resetting, all your personal data, files and apps on the device will remain unchanged.
  • Choose Next for step-by-step instructions.
Sony Xperia L1 - Device maintenance - Soft reset (forced reboot) - Step 2
  • To reboot the Sony Xperia L1, press and hold the power button and the volume up button on the side of the Sony Xperia L1 until the screen turns off.
Sony Xperia L1 - Device maintenance - Soft reset (forced reboot) - Step 3
  • The Sony Xperia L1 will automatically reboot.
Sony Xperia L1 - Device maintenance - Soft reset (forced reboot) - Step 4
  • If this screen appears, enter the pincode of simcard 1 and choose the tick symbol.
  • If this screen does not appear, go to the next step.
Sony Xperia L1 - Device maintenance - Soft reset (forced reboot) - Step 5
  • If this screen appears, enter the pincode of simcard 2 and choose the tick symbol.
  • If this screen does not appear, go to the next step.
Sony Xperia L1 - Device maintenance - Soft reset (forced reboot) - Step 6
  • If this screen appears, drag the lock symbol up to unlock it.
  • If this screen does not appear, go to the next step.
Sony Xperia L1 - Device maintenance - Soft reset (forced reboot) - Step 7
  • The Sony Xperia L1 has been rebooted.
Sony Xperia L1 - Device maintenance - Soft reset (forced reboot) - Step 8
  • If the problem persists, try using a so-called ‘hard reset’ to solve the problem.
  • With a hard reset, the device is reset to the factory settings.
  • Note: In contrast to a soft reset, with the hard reset all your personal data, files and apps on the device will be lost.
Previous Step 1 of 8 Next